Is This ‘Normal’?

I woke up late this morning, which isn’t surprising as I was very late going to bed. Mind you, once I was up I was ready to get on and do whatever needed to be done, so that was a good thing.

This afternoon I began preparing our dinner then folded some laundry and took it upstairs. As soon as I had put it in the airing cupboard I went back downstairs but…

As I descended the stairs, exhaustion began to overtake me. It increased with each step I took. For those of you who have never experienced this sort of exhaustion, allow me to try to explain it: it felt as though, when I was trying to walk, I was coming up against a tearable membrane behind which was a huge amount of a rapidly-thickening jelly-like substance. As the jelly became more solid, so the tearable membrane became stronger.

I know that description sounds peculiar, but that is pretty much how it feels when the exhaustion comes upon me. The exhaustion itself seems to be a three-dimensional body which absorbs and engulfs me. It is not quite instantaneous, but it’s pretty d****d quick.

I rested and slept awhile and eventually the feeling of exhaustion lessened, although it took several hours. As I write this it is two or three hours later still and I don’t have any residual feelings of exhaustion. I feel OK.

So, I wonder if this is what ‘normal’ is going to be for me? Only time will tell.

About Bossymamma

Bossymamma's Fibro Diary charts how I feel and how I cope with Fibromyalgia and the effects it has on me and my life. Writing it helps me and, maybe, reading it will help someone else. Bossymamma's Ramblings is exactly that! It may be me chuntering on about life. It could be a short story I've written. You never know, it might even be a poem! Little by Little by Bossymamma is about all things crafty.
This entry was posted in Day to day life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is This ‘Normal’?

  1. z4zed says:

    Did you experience any of this when you were on your holiday?

    Like

    • Bossymamma says:

      Luckily I didn’t suffer the ‘walking through custard’ type of exhaustion whilst I was away but I was falling asleep so frequently that there probably wasn’t time in between to become so exhausted!

      Like

Leave a Reply

