Are You Still Feeling Tired?

I received a telephone call yesterday afternoon enquiring how the appointment with my GP had gone. I gave a quick precis then came The Question…

“Are you still feeling tired?”

The person on the other end of the telephone had been very concerned when the tiredness I had been feeling dragged on after the chest infection had cleared up in September. She had urged me to consult my GP and, when he could give no quick answers, became quite annoyed on my behalf. However, as you nay have already guessed from the question above, she doesn’t understand that the tiredness I feel is a symptom of the Fibromyalgia. I have tried to explain it to her, but without success. She has seen me dozing off in a chair because of it and had to wait for me when I was late because I fell asleep for two hours when I should have been on my way to see her: but still she doesn’t understand. Instead, I am asked The Question in what feels like an accusatory tone.

I think that, sometimes, people don’t hear or don’t understand because they don’t want to, or can’t allow themselves to. That’s OK, it’s their choice, but what about the people on the other side of it? The ones who are being asked The Question?

About Bossymamma

Bossymamma's Fibro Diary charts how I feel and how I cope with Fibromyalgia and the effects it has on me and my life. Writing it helps me and, maybe, reading it will help someone else. Bossymamma's Ramblings is exactly that! It may be me chuntering on about life. It could be a short story I've written. You never know, it might even be a poem! Little by Little by Bossymamma is about all things crafty.
This entry was posted in Day to day life, Diagnosis, Questions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are You Still Feeling Tired?

  1. Anne Greenhalgh says:

    As the saying goes Dina, there is none so blind as those who will not see. The same is true for those who don’t want to hear. If they don’t hear (or see) they don’t have to deal with it and they are happier that way – the person on the other end??? Well, they just have to carry on getting on with things, don’t they? x

    Like

Leave a Reply

