Fancy A Tipple?

I have just learned about another symptom of Fibromyalgia: thirst.

I had been noticing that I kept feeling thirsty and was drinking more. Mind you, the realisation took a while to register. For some time I have been waking at around 4:00 some mornings and have gotten up because I wanted a drink of some sort before trying to get back to sleep. A sip of water from a glass at the side of the bed just wasn’t going to hack it. I would go downstairs and make myself a cup of coffee then thoroughly enjoy drinking it. Usually I would sleep again after having that drink.

Actually, just typing the last paragraph has just made me realise the significance of the late-night coffee that I have been drinking regularly before retiring to bed. Surprisingly, the coffee doesn’t keep me awake!

In addition to these extra cups of coffee, I have also been drinking more cold drinks during the day. In fact, I have noticed that sometimes during a meal I can drink two or three glasses of water.

I hadn’t realised the significance of the increased amount that I have been drinking until one day last week when I received the latest newsletter from . There was a link to a by Plymouth University which is investigating whether there is a biological cause of Fibromyalgia. One of the questions in the survey asked about being thirsty: that was when my increased (non-alcoholic!) drinking made sense.

Isn’t it strange how we happen upon information? Even though I am not actively seeking information about Fibro, it seems determined to find me!

About Bossymamma

Bossymamma's Fibro Diary charts how I feel and how I cope with Fibromyalgia and the effects it has on me and my life. Writing it helps me and, maybe, reading it will help someone else. Bossymamma's Ramblings is exactly that! It may be me chuntering on about life. It could be a short story I've written. You never know, it might even be a poem! Little by Little by Bossymamma is about all things crafty.
This entry was posted in Day to day life, Learning, Thirst and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fancy A Tipple?

  1. Anne Greenhalgh says:

    Perhaps that’s why I drink so much!?!?!? lol!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

