Shall I Go Up… Or Down?

Dandelion fountain in the King's Cross area of Sydney

Dandelion fountain in the King’s Cross area of Sydney

In my last post I talked about the medication transition process, including how long the whole thing was taking. Since then, a new twist has appeared in that particular road. Would you believe that my Amitriptyline dose has increased? I know. Pretty unbelievable.

Even before my last post, I had noticed that my mood was dipping. Having suffered several major depressive episodes, I was lucky enough to be able to recognise what was happening. By that, I do not mean that if someone has been depressed before they are able to tell when it is happening to them again, but, rather, that I saw what was happening and somehow my mind managed to realise the risks involved – usually it doesn’t realise and so off I go down that slippery slope.

As I say, I recognised the risk. I had also noticed that various Fibromyalgia symptoms were beginning to crop up, albeit mildly. I tried to arrange a telephone consultation with Dr. Azeer but it wasn’t possible. I had wanted to discuss my thoughts that the low mood and the appearance of the Fibro symptoms were linked to the decrease in my Amitriptyline dose. As I couldn’t speak to Dr. Azeer and the weekend would occur before I managed to speak to him, I did something I wouldn’t normally do: I increased the Amitriptyline. My dose had dropped to 10mg the previous day but I decided that it would be a good idea to put it back up to 20mg. My reasoning was that it would be a while before I could be put onto another drug and for it to start being effective, so I might have more success with what I was already on. ***

I saw Dr. Azeer on Monday of this week to discuss how things were going and to tell him that I had upped the amount of Amitriptyline I was taking. We talked about the pros and cons of continuing with the Amitriptyline and of going back to taking Citalopram for the depression. For the time being, I shall continue on Amitriptyline, albeit on a lower than ideal dose, and we will review the situation in four or five weeks.

*** I do not advocate changing the dose of any medication one has been prescribed: always seek professional medical advice.

About Bossymamma

Bossymamma's Fibro Diary charts how I feel and how I cope with Fibromyalgia and the effects it has on me and my life. Writing it helps me and, maybe, reading it will help someone else. Bossymamma's Ramblings is exactly that! It may be me chuntering on about life. It could be a short story I've written. You never know, it might even be a poem! Little by Little by Bossymamma is about all things crafty.
This entry was posted in Choices, Day to day life, Decisions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

