A Different Perspective

A visual metaphor

A visual metaphor

Today I am moving away from the tedious subject of fatigue to look at another symptom of Fibromyalgia that I am having. Tinnitus.

I have had tinnitus for more than 30 years. It is more troubling at some times than at others, but is usually well within my ability to cope with it. Things have changed now. The tinnitus has become markedly more intrusive than it has been previously. Although, at times, it has been decidedly unpleasant, it has never been so noticeable and uncomfortable for as long as it has been recently.

The noise in my ears has been much louder and more insistent than I have known it be before. Whereas, usually, I would notice the tinnitus just occasionally, now I hear it almost all the time. One good thing is that it is a single tone that I hear. When it has played up in the past I would hear different sounds in each ear, and sometimes more than one sound in each ear. That scenario is very difficult to cope with. However, the multiple tones have previously been for short periods: short bursts just a few times a day for a week or so. My current discomfort has been for long periods, almost continuous.

This morning a metaphorical bell rang in my brain, linking tinnitus and Fibromyalgia. A quick search of the two conditions soon brought up various articles which showed that it is believed that there is a link. I’m going to try not to moan about the tinnitus as I am very well aware of how lucky I am not to suffer anything more than mild pain with the Fibro. I do not forget to be thankful about that. Long may it continue.

I am trying to keep positive about the change in my tinnitus, rather than allowing it to get me down. After all, the prospect of having the noise in my ears continuously and indefinitely, is not something I am keen to dwell upon. For the time being, increased tinnitus is just one more of the “odds and ends” of Fibro symptoms that I have.

*Information and support relating to tinnitus can be found at www.tinnitus.org.uk

About Bossymamma

Bossymamma's Fibro Diary charts how I feel and how I cope with Fibromyalgia and the effects it has on me and my life. Writing it helps me and, maybe, reading it will help someone else. Bossymamma's Ramblings is exactly that! It may be me chuntering on about life. It could be a short story I've written. You never know, it might even be a poem! Little by Little by Bossymamma is about all things crafty.
This entry was posted in Day to day life, Fatigue, Symptoms, Tinnitus and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

