More About Stress And Fibromyalgia

Winny and Luna: my "granddogs"!

Winny and Luna: my “granddogs”!

Well, it has been quite a stressful week. It has also been a physically tiring week.

All things considered, the Fibromyalgia has behaved pretty well this week. Admittedly fatigue clobbered me as I was walking from the hospital car park to the ward where my mother was an in-patient, and its effects were still present the following morning, but things could have been so much worse.

The main symptoms I have had this week are tiredness and tinnitus. The tinnitus continues to intrude more than usual, making it feel particularly unpleasant. As for the tiredness, it hasn’t been as debilitating as I have known it to be at other times, and for that I am thankful. I have also had Fibro Fog at times this week. It hasn’t been mind-numbingly severe, but there have been quite a few occasions when I haven’t been able to take in what someone has said to me. Usually, being told a second time has been enough for me to absorb what was being said, thank goodness. I need to be near the top of my game, at the moment, if possible. There are decisions to be made concerning my mother and I am the one who is being asked to make them.

With so many things going on, I know that I need to take jolly good care of myself in order to have a fighting chance of coping with the mental and physical challenges. To this end, for the time being my emphasis will be on what I need to do to help me cope. I am working on a craft project for a swap that is taking place during the coming week. It could feel like a lot of pressure, but it doesn’t. I have made excellent progress and am sure that it will be finished in time for me to meet the deadline. It helps that I am enjoying making it, so it’s a bit of a stress-buster. There are also a couple of family events in my diary for this week. I have decided, as firmly as I realistically can, that I shall fulfil those. Anything else in my diary may well be ignored unless or until I have enough mental or physical energy to cope with them.

With so much going on, my low dose of Amitriptyline seems to be working extremely well. There have been a couple of times during the past week when I have considered using my standby medication, although I haven’t actually done so. If life and Fibromyalgia continue along these lines, I think I should be able to cope.

Watch this space!

About Bossymamma

Bossymamma's Fibro Diary charts how I feel and how I cope with Fibromyalgia and the effects it has on me and my life. Writing it helps me and, maybe, reading it will help someone else. Bossymamma's Ramblings is exactly that! It may be me chuntering on about life. It could be a short story I've written. You never know, it might even be a poem! Little by Little by Bossymamma is about all things crafty.
This entry was posted in Coping, Day to day life, Fatigue, Fibro Fog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

