The Telephones Are Red Hot!

image

It’s official: my Fibromyalgia is having a full-blown flare. Hardly surprising really, especially considering my belief (and, I believe, that of my GP) that the reason my body succumbed to Fibro in the first place was because of stress. And, boy, do I have plenty of that at the moment!

The saga of my mother’s stay in hospital continues. Not only that, but it becomes more complicated, seemingly by the hour. Wednesday was a particularly fraught day, made more so by the amount of travelling Peter and I had to do in order to attend a special event for his family. The day was very long and excruciatingly exhausting and I am still trying to recover from it. I’m sure I hardly need to tell you that Wednesday was the straw that broke the camel’s back. The Fibro flare hit with a vengeance. How dare I try to live a reasonable life with so much going on? Don’t I know I have Fibromyalgia? Well, yes, actually. I do know. There are times when one needs to not collapse in a heap, and this is one of those times. Unfortunately, though, no-one has managed to convince the Fibro of that.

These last two days the tiredness and fatigue have been extreme. At one point yesterday, I was so worn out I hardly had the energy to breathe. Have you any idea how much energy it actually takes to breathe in and then out again? Well, let me tell you, it takes a humungously huge amount! The effort required was leaving me feeling that breathing was counterproductive. In other words, I seemed to be using more energy actually breathing than I was gaining by taking in the oxygen from each breath. That sensation can feel quite scary.

I think yesterday the fatigue felt worse than at any other time since the Fibro invaded my body. I was totally wiped out. For most of the day I couldn’t do anything: I couldn’t concentrate on television or the computer, if I attempted to do any sewing I just felt heavy-limbed and enervated after just a few stitches. I was just a blob.

Today has been very slightly better but everything has still needed far more effort than I could realistically muster. Obviously I have still had to make lots of telephone calls to hospitals and the like, but it has been very difficult to stay on even keel during the calls.

I need the Fibro flare to subside but, for that to happen, there needs to be a significant reduction in my stress levels. Unfortunately, that is unlikely to happen any time soon.

About Bossymamma

Bossymamma's Fibro Diary charts how I feel and how I cope with Fibromyalgia and the effects it has on me and my life. Writing it helps me and, maybe, reading it will help someone else. Bossymamma's Ramblings is exactly that! It may be me chuntering on about life. It could be a short story I've written. You never know, it might even be a poem! Little by Little by Bossymamma is about all things crafty.
This entry was posted in Coping, Day to day life, Fatigue, Stress and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

