Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow?

Hyde Park, Sydney

Hyde Park, Sydney

It’s a while since I posted anything here, isn’t it? The reason for radio silence is that, with regard to the Fibromyalgia, things have been uneventful. I have had tiredness and fatigue, but not to any extreme. I have also had some mild pain, which went as quickly as it appeared, and other bits and pieces of symptoms which are not worth mentioning. However, the tinnitus continues to intrude and, at times, can feel unbearable.

My main difficulties recently have been stress-related: anxiety and depression (A & D). Although I am aware that Fibro can cause A & D, I have suffered from both for very much longer than I have had Fibro. Yes, I know lots of people have Fibro for a very long time before it is diagnosed, but Dr. Azeer recognised mine for what it was, or is, within a few weeks of it appearing. Consequently I view A & D separately from the Fibro. Anyway, the A & D have been playing up because my stress levels have been high. I am hoping that, now I’m feeling less stressed, the A & D will ease. In the meantime, Dr. Azeer has suggested I take regular doses of my emergency medicine to help me through. Whilst I haven’t been doing so, I have been taking it more than I was before I saw him this week.

During my appointment with Dr. Azeer, we discussed how well the amitriptyline seems to be controlling my symptoms. We also discussed the well-known effects of stress on Fibro i.e. Fibro Flares. We agreed that, with everything that’s going on, I could be susceptible. However, I told him that I do not intend to spend my life worrying about what Fibro might do to me: I will deal with things as and when they arise. I refuse to use all my energy simply counting spoons.

(By the way, he had never heard of the Spoon Theory.)

About Bossymamma

Bossymamma's Fibro Diary charts how I feel and how I cope with Fibromyalgia and the effects it has on me and my life. Writing it helps me and, maybe, reading it will help someone else. Bossymamma's Ramblings is exactly that! It may be me chuntering on about life. It could be a short story I've written. You never know, it might even be a poem! Little by Little by Bossymamma is about all things crafty.
This entry was posted in Anxiety, Day to day life, Fatigue, Tinnitus, Tiredness and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

