Taking Care Of Oneself, Bossy-Style

image

Last time I posted on here I mentioned that I was coming off the Amitriptyline and not replacing it with any other medication for the Fibromyalgia. Having gradually reduced the Amitriptyline, I took my final dose just over a week ago. So far, things are going well. OK, I know it’s only been a week but it’s still worth recording how the Fibro has been behaving.

I have been having some of what I call the “side” or “small” symptoms, but, by and large, they are easily manageable. The nausea hasn’t cleared up completely which makes me wonder if it had a different root cause, all along. Alternatively, the cause may have changed during the time I was coming off the Amitriptyline: time will tell. I have had some dizziness, including one very unpleasant bout, but it hasn’t caused any real problems in my day-to-day life. The tinnitus is not as instrusive as it was whilst I was on the Amitriptyline. My internal thermometer is playing silly wotsits, but it’s not a problem – in fact, it’s quite novel to have cold feet! As for the tiredness, it has increased slightly but is not a big issue. I have been keeping strange hours lately as I’ve had to make lots of telephone calls to Australia in the middle of the night! Generally, if I’ve been on the phone a lot during the night, I have a bit of a lie-in in the morning, which seems to be keeping the worst of the tiredness at bay.

What I have noticed, lately, is that I am not doing much. Usually, whenever I sit in my armchair, I do some knitting, crocheting or sewing. However, over the past two or three weeks or so, I have spent an unusual amount of time just sitting doing nothing, or surfing the net. I seem to be happy to live life more slowly, at the moment – and that’s perfectly fine. After several months of extreme stress, now that half of that stress has lifted, it feels ‘safe’ to allow myself to slow down. In fact, I have slowed down to such an extent that I am actually relaxing! I can definitely feel a very welcome difference in the way that I am. Not only that, but I have even been told how well I look, by several people!

Perhaps my ‘baby’ boy was right about the Fibro disappearing, now that the cause has gone?!?

About Bossymamma

Bossymamma's Fibro Diary charts how I feel and how I cope with Fibromyalgia and the effects it has on me and my life. Writing it helps me and, maybe, reading it will help someone else. Bossymamma's Ramblings is exactly that! It may be me chuntering on about life. It could be a short story I've written. You never know, it might even be a poem! Little by Little by Bossymamma is about all things crafty.
This entry was posted in Adrenalin, Day to day life, Dizziness, Feet, Stress, Symptoms, Temperature, Tinnitus, Tiredness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

