No, I’m Not Having A Heart Attack!

IMG_2262

Recently I messaged a friend, who also has Fibromyalgia, asking her if she finds that the Fibro pain tends to be symmetrical. The example I used in the message was that if there was a pain in the left arm, did it appear in the right arm, also. I asked because I have been experiencing pain in my left arm but, in case your reaction is like hers, let me assure you that I am not having a heart attack! If the pain signified a heart attack I am certain I would have shuffled off this mortal coil several months ago.

Since the Fibro pain really started to kick in, it has tended to appear in my upper left arm most consistently. It radiates from there, sometimes going from the fingertips of my left hand, through the whole of my left arm, across both shoulders, taking a couple of detours – one up into my neck and the other down into my trunk as far as my lower chest and all the way round my back – then down the right arm to the fingertips of my right hand. Sometimes, it feels as though somenoe is continually prodding me sharply in my left arm. At other times, it is more like having shards of glass stabbing my arm. Or, it might feel like a tight band around a specific part of the upper arm. Then again, when I have a shower, it can feel as though the jets of water are piercing my skin or my skin is being scraped with shards of glass when I use the shower puff to wash my skin. However it feels, I’m pretty sure I’m not having a heart attack!

About Bossymamma

Bossymamma's Fibro Diary charts how I feel and how I cope with Fibromyalgia and the effects it has on me and my life. Writing it helps me and, maybe, reading it will help someone else. Bossymamma's Ramblings is exactly that! It may be me chuntering on about life. It could be a short story I've written. You never know, it might even be a poem! Little by Little by Bossymamma is about all things crafty.
This entry was posted in Arm pain, Back pain, Day to day life, Fingers, Pain, Shards of glass, Shoulder pain. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

