The Trouble With Friends…

IMG_2029

Seydisfyjordur, Iceland

The trouble with friends is that if the house is dirty and they decide to visit, cleaning has to be done! That is most definitely a major disadvantage. I have never liked housework but now, with having Fibromyalgia, I dislike it even more.

I did a lot of cleaning over the weekend, all of it punctuated by periods of rest, or even sleep. As the weekend wore on, I became more worn out. I don’t suppose my strong dislike of housework helped. I ground to a halt on Sunday afternoon and had to really drag myself upstairs to pack the small suitcase I would need for the short holiday said friend and I were going on. I had planned to have a shower and pack the case whilst my body was drying (I’m too lazy to dry myself!) but I was just too doggone tired.

I got up bright and early this morning – OK, not ‘bright’ but definitely ‘early’ and managed to shower and wash my hair, ready to face the day. After a very quick drink of squash (couldn’t face coffee), we set off on our adventure. Peter and I had agreed that I would drive the three of us to the coach pick-up point. I have to say, I was glad it was only three miles away – I really didn’t feel like driving far.

We sat in the car for a few minutes, awaiting the coach, boarding it soon after it turned up. It soon became obvious that energy was going to be in fairly short supply.

By the time we reached Thirsk, where we were stopping for two hours or so for lunch, I was completely worn out. I had pain in all the usual places, plus a couple of new ones and was struggling to walk along. Lunch and a coffee revived me somewhat but the benefits were short-lived. All I wanted to do was lie down and sleep. I tried to sleep on the coach but only managed short snatches. I think I was over-tired as I couldn’t sleep in the hotel room, either.

My fingers are well and truly crossed that I sleep well tonight as we have a long day in Durham tomorrow and I really, really, REALLY want to see Durham!

Wish me luck!

 

About Bossymamma

Bossymamma's Fibro Diary charts how I feel and how I cope with Fibromyalgia and the effects it has on me and my life. Writing it helps me and, maybe, reading it will help someone else. Bossymamma's Ramblings is exactly that! It may be me chuntering on about life. It could be a short story I've written. You never know, it might even be a poem! Little by Little by Bossymamma is about all things crafty.
This entry was posted in Bad day, Day to day life, Fatigue, Pain, Symptoms, Tiredness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Trouble With Friends…

  1. Nanajan says:

    Oh, Dina I feel for you. I’ve travelled on many a coach and found if I nod off I feel worse

    Like

    • Bossymamma says:

      Do you also have Fibromyalgia? Usually I find that having a sleep perks me up, even on the coach, but today it just wasn’t to be.

      Like

Leave a Reply

