And Now The Holiday Is Over

IMG_2586

I doubt if you need me to tell you that this is The Angel of the North by Anthony Gormley

Little Sis and I have returned from our holiday. Yesterday, the last of our trip, was rather full. It included a lunch stop in the beautiful spa town of Harrogate in Yorkshire. It was somewhat unexpected as our driver had led us to believe that he would be stopping in Ripon!

Now, I really like Harrogate. It has a character all its own, which is enhanced by the lovely architecture. If you’ve never been to Harrogate, there’s something you need to know… It’s hilly, very hilly and, if you go by coach, you will likely be dropped off in Montpelier – and any “escape” from Montpelier necessitates going uphill, in just about every direction!

Little Sis and I set off up the hill we needed to ascend to reach our destination. It felt like a lot to ask of my body after the pains, fatigue and exertions of the week, but I managed to get to the place we were aiming for by taking it steady. As the week wore on, I had noticed my walking getting progressively slower. It is dispiriting to always be a few steps behind one’s companion, but I tried not to dwell on that. Instead, I concentrated on the mantra that “slow and steady wins the race” and it seemed to work. By concentrating on walking one step at a time, my mind was too busy to think of what was causing me to move slowly. Slow and steady is good in another way, as it allows me to be careful about where and how I place my left arm, whilst walking. During times of arm pain, I find that walking exacerbates it. I think it is due to the arm needing  support to prevent the combination of its weight and the vibrations caused by walking. I wonder if other FibroWarriors find that?

 

 

About Bossymamma

Bossymamma's Fibro Diary charts how I feel and how I cope with Fibromyalgia and the effects it has on me and my life. Writing it helps me and, maybe, reading it will help someone else. Bossymamma's Ramblings is exactly that! It may be me chuntering on about life. It could be a short story I've written. You never know, it might even be a poem! Little by Little by Bossymamma is about all things crafty.
This entry was posted in Arm pain, Coping, Day to day life, Fibro Warrior, Pain, Slow, Walking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

