Two Days On The Trot. Or not.

Stained glass

Beautiful stained glass window

May I begin by saying that I am not making any religious statement by showing this photograph – I photographed it, and am showing it here, because I think the colours are beautiful.

Back to Fibromyalgia…

Yesterday started sluggishly and didn’t ever manage to speed up. I was paying the price for having lived something like a *normal* day on Sunday. The Fibro was obviously thinking about punishing me for actually feeling pleased at what I had achieved over the weekend. Well, it was terrible of me to imagine I’d had something like a good day, wasn’t it? No, actually, it wasn’t terrible. Despite what the Fibro might think, I am allowed to have positive thoughts and good or goodish days. When it tries to tell me otherwise I will stand with a mutinous expression on my face, my fingers fixed firmly in my ears, loudly chanting “Nah nah, nah-nah nah” at it.

However, I may not be quite so bold the next day. Hmmm.

Cue, Monday and the sluggish start. I wasn’t too bad, but I certainly wasn’t lively. I managed to go out in the morning but by the time I returned home, just before lunch, I needed to rest and, preferably, to sleep. That wasn’t to be. We had visitors due at 1:30 pm so I simply rested in an armchair for a while. Then I received a message that they were likely to be late, but by then it was too late to sleep. “Oh, well,” thought I, “I can sleep after they leave”. No, that wasn’t going to happen as they were later leaving than I had anticipated. That wasn’t a problem in itself as they are pleasant people and it was good to see them. It was simply that, by the time I had sorted through some of the items they had brought, it was almost time for dinner so there was no time for a nap.

I slept fairly well overnight. (I am thankful that currently, my sleeping at night, although short, does refresh me reasonably well.) This morning I awoke earlier than necessary so lay in bed awhile before getting up to face the day.

My first task of the day before I even went downstairs. I wanted to continue some easy sorting and tidying that I had started yesterday. I had been tackling it in fits and starts and thought I would do a little before my first coffee of the day. It didn’t take long for my energy to wane and, unfortunately, that was how it stayed for most of the day. I had been due to have the morning out with some friends today but had to cancel as I knew I had to sleep and was unlikely to wake up in time to get ready and go. In fact, I awoke at the time I should have been arriving at Elizabeth’s house and couldn’t find enuogh energy to get up from the chair for quite some time after that.

That sluggishness and fatigue has lasted all day, although I have managed three or four small, sedentary tasks over the course of the whole day. I have deliberately tried not to overdo things today as I have things to do tomorrow so, would you mind letting the Fibro know that it would be better if it didn’t come to see me on Wednesday, please?

 

 

About Bossymamma

Bossymamma's Fibro Diary charts how I feel and how I cope with Fibromyalgia and the effects it has on me and my life. Writing it helps me and, maybe, reading it will help someone else. Bossymamma's Ramblings is exactly that! It may be me chuntering on about life. It could be a short story I've written. You never know, it might even be a poem! Little by Little by Bossymamma is about all things crafty.
This entry was posted in Achievement, Coping, Day to day life, Fatigue, Fibro Warrior, Sleep, Sleeping, Tiredness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

