Rubber Balls R Us

image

Sydney Opera House from The Rocks

Well, given the title of this post, you won’t be surprised to hear that the Fibro has been up and down this week. Monday was mainly up then Tuesday was down. Move on to Wednesday and the Fibro was behaving itself pretty well.

Peter and I spent most of Wednesday at his mother’s home, after having delivered a car-load of charity donations en route. RB (Peter’s nickname for his mother) has asked me to help her with sorting and disposing of some of the things in her home. Her health has been fragile recently and it has given her plenty of time to fret over all sorts of things – something that I and, probably, many people with a chronic condition can identify with! Although I have far less energy than before the Fibro, decluttering is one of my favourite hobbies – especially when it is someone else’s clutter! The advantage of helping RB is that, in her current state of health, she needs to be careful not to overdo things, which means that I also get to rest.

RB was so concerned about things that she had convinced herself the room we were planning to sort was in a terrible state. In fact, it was far better than I had anticipated. Most of the chaos was superficial, meaning that very little energy was needed to make a huge difference. I was glad about that because, although I felt considerably better than I had the previous day, I could feel the fatigue waiting to pounce. However, I took things carefully and managed to last the day.

Cue, Thursday and abysmal energy levels. I spent most of the day in my armchair, doing easy tasks. Whenever I moved from the chair, the pain in the thoracic area of my back (my particular alarm bell for impending extreme fatigue) came on almost immediately. Moving around also made me feel unwell, due to the lack of energy.

My goodness, those rubber balls have been busy bouncing up and down this week, haven’t they?

Friday came and, with it, an increase in my ability to do things. I was still fatigued and struggled to do things but I did manage to do a full grocery shop in the morning, which was just as well as the cupboards were bare.

In the afternoon, I was due to see my GP, Dr. Azeer. I have to give him bonus points for not letting his welcoming smile slip when I told him I had a list. It was a successful visit during which we discussed the use of turmeric to ease pain. I wanted to check that taking turmeric capsules would not interfere with any of my medication and he confirmed that to be the case. I told him I had tried cannabis oil and it had not helped but that I thought it worth trying turmeric, especially having heard good things about it from several sources. I began taking the turmeric on Friday evening so, watch this space for news of if or how it affects my pain levels.

 

 

 

About Bossymamma

Bossymamma's Fibro Diary charts how I feel and how I cope with Fibromyalgia and the effects it has on me and my life. Writing it helps me and, maybe, reading it will help someone else. Bossymamma's Ramblings is exactly that! It may be me chuntering on about life. It could be a short story I've written. You never know, it might even be a poem! Little by Little by Bossymamma is about all things crafty.
This entry was posted in Bad day, Cannabis oil, Coping, Day to day life, Fatigue, Fibro Warrior, Good Day, Pain, Symptoms, Turmeric. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

