Another Lesson Learned

IMG_6352

Singapore, 2015

I am pleased to say that this week hasn’t been too bad. Yes, there’s been fatigue, but it has simply been a nuisance rather than dragging me way down. Also, pain has been minimal. I should add, at this point, that I began taking the turmeric capsules last weekend. Consequently, I cannot be sure whether it is the Fibro that has been better this week, or whether the turmeric is a wonder product that began annihilating it as soon as I popped the first capsule in my mouth! I think it more likely to be coincidence.

What I have learned this week is that the Fibro is very reactive to environment and stress, even in the very short term.

Peter and I were busy working on a particular task, one day this week. Unfortunately, due to circumstances beyond the control of either of us, things were not going as well as we had hoped – you know the sort of thing: one step forward, two steps back. I began to feel frustrated which led to feelings of agitation, then on to tiredness, verging on exhaustion, plus a general feeling of not being well. I said I was having a break and went to sit down. After 10 or 15 minutes, all of those feelings I had been experiencing were calming down and I felt able to face the task again. It had been an odd sensation, one which I wasn’t aware of having felt previously. Understandably, Peter had misread the signs I was apparently giving off. He thought that I was feeling too unwell to continue and was, I think, quite concerned for my wellbeing.

I think that what had happened was that I had been stressed and overwhelmed by the situation, which had led to me suffering several Fibro symptoms, albeit for a  very short time. Once I had taken myself out of the situation and had some “time out”, I quickly recovered my equilibrium.

The experience was a valuable lesson about how stress can bring on a sort of ‘mini’ Fibro attack and, also, how taking “time out” for just a short while can alleviate those symptoms.

 

About Bossymamma

Bossymamma's Fibro Diary charts how I feel and how I cope with Fibromyalgia and the effects it has on me and my life. Writing it helps me and, maybe, reading it will help someone else. Bossymamma's Ramblings is exactly that! It may be me chuntering on about life. It could be a short story I've written. You never know, it might even be a poem! Little by Little by Bossymamma is about all things crafty.
This entry was posted in Agitation, Day to day life, Fatigue, Learning, Stress, Symptoms, Tiredness, Turmeric. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

