And Here’s Another Thing

IMG_6355

North Cape, June 2012

Yesterday I clicked on a link about Fibromyalgia that I saw on Facebook. A friend, who has had Fibro far longer than I, had shared this LINK to another Fibro-related blog. I rarely look at things about Fibro online, or elsewhere, unless there is something specific I want to research. However, something drew me to find out more.

When I clicked through to the blog and read the post, a light bulb went on inside my head! I could identify with what was being said. I don’t think I had ever really registered when something like this happens inside my head, but now someone else was talking about it… and it all made sense. Admittedly, and very fortunately, I don’t experience anything as bad as The Girl With Five Lads, but I certainly go through some of it. There are definitely times when it feels as though there is too much happening. Too much information. Too many directions I’m being pulled in. Too much to cope with.

“We all have times like those” you might say. “My life is really stressful.” “I’m always multi-tasking.” But, it’s not the same. It’s not trying to do cook the dinner, make a phone call, empty the bin and go to the loo, all at the same time. It’s trying to make sense of something that should be really straightforward, something which always has been simple before, but being unable to because you are being bombarded by huge amounts of information in different formats, at different volumes and speeds, in several different languages, all at the same time. The brain just wants to explode and then hide itself in a corner, so it decides to send you into a massive panic and tries desperately hard to make you crumple into tears. If you’re really lucky you’ll eventually be able to work out how to say “Stop”. And, if you’re luckier still, someone will be around who can help you to escape the attack of information, and give you a breathing space, a chance to calm down and recover.

Do you know the worst part about it? It’s feeling so pathetic because you “ought” to be able to filter all those ordinary things that have been attacking your senses and understand what’s going on – but you just can’t.

 

About Bossymamma

Bossymamma's Fibro Diary charts how I feel and how I cope with Fibromyalgia and the effects it has on me and my life. Writing it helps me and, maybe, reading it will help someone else. Bossymamma's Ramblings is exactly that! It may be me chuntering on about life. It could be a short story I've written. You never know, it might even be a poem! Little by Little by Bossymamma is about all things crafty.
This entry was posted in Coping, Day to day life, Fibro Warrior, Overload, Panic, Senses. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

