The Lurker

Version 2

The Sage, Gateshead, May 2017

Before we start, I know this photograph probably breaks lots of photography rules but I like it. I like how busy it is, how it has so many elements and that it shows lots of things and nothing, all at the same time. Not only that, but when I was looking for a picture to put at the top of this post, it just seemed to fit with the title.

The Lurker is a pretty good name for Fibromyalgia, don’t you think? It’s always lurking in the background, even if it’s not making itself felt. The trick is, I think, not to always be thinking of it. I don’t mean that one should go ‘hell for leather’ whenever one feels OK, after all, that probably wouldn’t be sensible, but not to carry around nagging thoughts about how soon it might manifest and in what way. It’s a fine balance to achieve, trying to be simultaneously aware but unaware, but it’s necessary for one’s own good. I suppose the trick is to find a level for day-to-day living that allows you to do things you enjoy in a way that, one hopes, won’t aggravate the Fibro. Obviously Fibro isn’t only reactive to outside forces, it clearly has a very stubborn mind of its own, but I think we can agree that, at times, what one does can trigger a flare-up. So, we have to find that balance for how we live our lives.

Part of my own search for balance has been to take life down a notch. That has happened in lots of ways, some of which I have barely been aware of, others that I have consciously decided needed changing. I’ll tell you what, though, it can be an interesting journey.

 

About Bossymamma

Bossymamma's Fibro Diary charts how I feel and how I cope with Fibromyalgia and the effects it has on me and my life. Writing it helps me and, maybe, reading it will help someone else. Bossymamma's Ramblings is exactly that! It may be me chuntering on about life. It could be a short story I've written. You never know, it might even be a poem! Little by Little by Bossymamma is about all things crafty.
This entry was posted in Changes, Choices, Coping, Day to day life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

