Nice And Easy Does It

IMG_0929.jpg

Singapore, May 2015

For the past two or three weeks (actually, it’s probably longer than that), I have been living quietly. By ‘quietly’ I mean that I haven’t been rushing about: instead I have been doing things when I feel like doing them, resting when I feel like resting, getting up and going to bed when I feel like it – you know the sort of thing. Some of the time it has been through choice, the rest of the time it hasn’t. I have been trying to give my body a chance to recharge its batteries. That may sound odd coming from someone who has problems with fatigue caused by Fibromyalgia, but it has felt as though I needed to have a bit of ‘slow’ time.

It has been an odd state of affairs, this slow time. For a start, I dislike being disabled by the fatigue. It is dreadfully frustrating not to be able to do things that I have been looking forward to, but, after a while, it just felt right to slow things down a bit. I had recently returned, after a long break, to a group that meets on Thursday evenings and I was thoroughly enjoying it. However, I was finding that for probably half of the time, I was too weary to be able to attend. Instead of railing against fate, I decided that my default position would be that I was unable to go to the meetings. That way, if I felt bright enough to go, it would be a big, fat bonus, rather than suffering the disappointment of missing it when the fatigue was playing up. I must say, making that particular decision has made it easier to cope with not being able to attend. At this point, I was going to say that perhaps I should adopt this strategy for everything, but I think that would be a bad thing. It would be a terribly pessimistic standpoint so I don’t think it would work. For the moment, it’s enough to use it just for the Thursday evening group.

I am finding that I am having to keep adjusting the way I live with the Fibro. I suppose much of that is because the Fibro has changed and has been affecting me differently over the last several months. For the time being, I don’t mind the ebb and flow – which is a good thing – but it remains to be seenhow long that remains true. For now, I shall continue on my slow journey, with occasional bursts of speed – not only in my lovely car!

About Bossymamma

Bossymamma's Fibro Diary charts how I feel and how I cope with Fibromyalgia and the effects it has on me and my life. Writing it helps me and, maybe, reading it will help someone else. Bossymamma's Ramblings is exactly that! It may be me chuntering on about life. It could be a short story I've written. You never know, it might even be a poem! Little by Little by Bossymamma is about all things crafty.
This entry was posted in Changes, Choices, Coping, Day to day life, Decisions, Fatigue, Fibro Warrior, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

