The Vice Squad Have Got Me!

DSCF1936

Jamaa al-Fna, Marrakech, Morocco. January 2012

It had to happen some day. I knew the Vice Squad would eventually catch up with me. I’m not sure that I deserve it, though. I really hope it will be gentle with me.

No, I don’t mean THAT Vice Squad! Whatever do you take me for? No, don’t answer that! The Vice Squad I am talking about is the one that attacks my upper arms and uses a metal prod on each arm, which feels as though it is about three inches (7.5 cms) in diameter, to do so. It squeezes those two circular discs together, towards each other, in its vice-like grip. Even though no-one can see them, and you could argue that they don’t exist, I can tell you exactly what they look like. How weird is that?

The discs are about 1/2″ (1.25 cm) to 3/4″ (2 cm) deep and the rims are painted a burgundy red, with a hint of blood red in the colour. The red paint is glossy but not brilliantly shiny. The face of the disc looks similar to a potter’s wheel, with a narrow concentric circular groove cut in every inch (2.5 cm) or so. That surface is unpainted metal, smooth, but not shiny. I don’t know if other people picture the instrument of torture they are suffering, but the image of those discs immediately comes into my mind when the vice starts to grip. My mind’s eye is a very busy little bee! Funnily enough, I was reading an article online yesterday about someone who is the very opposite of me when it comes to having a virtual image – she has Aphantasia. In other words, she isn’t able to picture things in her head. I found the piece fascinating – well worth reading, which is why I have included a link to it.